Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Family found out we have $$ hidden and now they want some

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post

Both DF and I grew up poor. We don't want that for our children. We save $ as much as possible. I work full time as a daycare manager and DH works as a welder/mechanic. Hes graduated 4 year college and makes good $. We live off his paycheck alone and any money I make is direct deposited into a seperate checking account that we only deposit money in and never withdrawl from. I love the way we do it. I know most wouldn't like it, but i make good $, and DS gets to go to work with me everyday. I have a TV in my office, toys, and he can go play with the kids in daycare whenever he wants but still gets to spend the majority of the day with his mommy. Yesterday i deposited $ into it, and got a receipt back that said "Remaining Balance: __"  DS was playing in my purse and dumped everything out. I saw him chewing on a receipt, and not even thinking i asked MIL if she could grab that from him, just incase it was an important receipt. Her being her, super nosey, reads its and sees the remaining balance. She instantly starts complaining about how badly they are hurting for money and how it would be nice if anybody who cared could help her out as long as she paid them back, etc...