Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Teens moving out?

Posted by on Apr. 25, 2013 at 11:41 PM
  • 58 Replies

My teens will be 18 soon, one this year, and one next year, both will still be in HS. Both are always talking about moving out and renting an apartment with their friends. I think this is a bad idea and have tried to explain that to them but I don't think they understand. 

I moved out when I was 18, granted I finished HS when I was 17, but I was a freshman in college. It was a bad move for me. I went to school all day and worked all night. I never got enough sleep and my roommate and I were always broke. We never had food, my cell phone was always shut off, and we struggled to pay rent and electric even though we both worked full time. As it is now, they have it pretty sweet. DH and I have given them iphones, laptops, flat screen tv's, their own game systems, and other various things. The only thing required of them is to help with chores. 

Neither has ever had a real job (both have done odd jobs here and there) and have never had to worry about paying bills. How do I explain to them how hard it is to be responsible for their own food, clothes, cell phone bill, cable, internet, car payment, car insurance, rent, electric and gas? I tried but they were just like, eh, we can handle it.  

by on Apr. 25, 2013 at 11:41 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Mrs.Torres2566
by Mrs.T on Apr. 25, 2013 at 11:44 PM

Bumping for help.

Mrs.Torres2566
by Mrs.T on Apr. 25, 2013 at 11:53 PM

BUMP!

KGreen75
by on Apr. 25, 2013 at 11:54 PM
I moved out 2 months after I graduated high school. Never looked back, never regretted it. Best choice ever.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
kelly617
by Gold Member on Apr. 25, 2013 at 11:54 PM
1 mom liked this

Unfortunately there is no way for them to get it until it happens to them.