Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

100K Down the Damn Drain

Posted by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 6:35 PM
  • 142 Replies

Does anyone feel that going to college is more a waste of time and/or money more than not? I went to college and struggled to find a job and not even in the field that I studied. I didn't have years of experience when I graduated and that is what seem to be the job-catcher; experience. Im almost at the point where I may not encourage my boys to go to college as much as I am to choose a career path earlier (in your teens) and gain experience in it, ASAP. I feel like I wasted my time and money and that's a sucky feeling that I don't want my kids to go through. Just curious, does anyone else feel this way?

EDIT:

My degree is in Hospitality Management and I also went to culianry school for 2 years after that and studied baking. Im learning by most of these responses that it definitely pays to specialize in something specific (that's definitely lucrative).

Also, does anyone think that an online degree is less credible than going to a "brick and mortar" school?

by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 6:35 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Apr. 29, 2013 at 6:37 PM
2 moms liked this

Yup. It's certainly becoming a waste of time and money to go to college unless you somehow gain experience before or during college. That's what I am trying to do. I need experience so I can form a portfolio to show off my work. No one is going to go by my word and give me hundreds of dollars. It's frustrating, but times are changing.

Anonymous
by Anonymous on Apr. 29, 2013 at 6:37 PM

No I didn't go to college but a culinary school, and didn't end up using that as a career after all. but I don't feel its a waste, and it wasn't anywhere that amt.