Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

No childcare = no visitation?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 170 Replies

My husband is supposed to get his child over the summer for six weeks. However, we do not have any childcare for her. The preschool my son goes to only has older kids-4 and 5 year olds (the child will be four in August). There's other daycares, but none will take her for only the summer. Plus, her mother said she wasn't willing to pay half of the costs, and we aren't about to shell out all that money for her just to be at daycare while she's here. I'm a college professor and will be teaching a couple summer classes and my husband works for a corporate office. So there's no way we can get off work. His family lives out of town, and my family has their own life and I won't ask them to rearrange their summer plans for this child.

We're bummed, but it is what it is.

Posted by Anonymous on May. 1, 2013 at 4:32 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Mommy2b2many
by on May. 1, 2013 at 4:33 PM

There seriously isn't a single one who will take her? wow, thats too bad. Well is your DH wants to see his child he needs to figure out a way to make it work...

Peppy11
by on May. 1, 2013 at 4:34 PM
3 moms liked this

If it's affordable, you could hire a babysitter to watch the children at home.  Maybe that isn't going to work out for the full six weeks, but you might consider taking a few weeks of visitation. 

Anonymous
by Anonymous on May. 1, 2013 at 4:35 PM
18 moms liked this

It sounds like you don't care very much about the little girl which is sad. My exDH saves all year long so he can afford to take time off in the summer to spend with our daughter. I hope that little girl doesn't grow up bitter for the way her daddy was unwilling to inconvience his "new" family so he could see her. :(

Anonymous