Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

I no longer have my child... ask me anything...

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 84 Replies

I've never done one of these before, so I thought I'd give it a shot. I live in a different state than my DD. I gave her to a good friend when I became homeless because I didn't want that kind of life for her. Well, I'm better off now, but she's become so close to my friend that taking her away and having her come live with me (practically a stranger) would break her little heart and I don't think I could do it. She has a surrogate mother, father (not living in the house), grandparents, and even a younger sister and a dog living with my friend. She's loved and very well taken care of, but I do still hold some guilt for how it all turned out. I will probably always feel like a failure as a mother. And it's worse now because I know my fiance wants kids of his own, but I don't feel it's fair to my DD that I didn't keep her, but I'm having other children... 

She is going to be 6 in July, and I haven't seen her face-to-face since she was 2. She knows who I am, but I'm not mommy anymore, she now calls me by my first name and my friend is "mommy". I'm ok with it, but it definitely hurts a little. Well, there's to get you started, any questions, feel free to ask.

ANSWERS:

I miss her every day. 

I would love to visit her, but I had to stop because she'd have nightmares after we saw each other. Her guardian and I believe my ex may have molested her and seeing me triggers the memories. We now also live in different states. 

She is not adopted, it is temporary guardianship that I can revoke at any time.