Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

I need your honest input (long)

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 17 Replies

So today at work, the staff coordinator came up to me about 45 minutes before work was done and said she needed to talk to me. I am just an intern, paid, but an intern so I am the lowest wrong on the totem pole. I do what staff says. Anyways, I work with youth from the ghetto/urban area all type of demographics etc.

Anyways, she told me that she had recieved a complaint(s) by a participant(s) about me. So I am wonder what could it be because I make it a point to be very chill, sociable, friendly, but proffessional. She then in the most vague way explained that I had said something in a way/or the words themselves that made the participant uncomfortable/offended/upset, not really sure which. That I needed to work on my communication but she never said specifically what about it was needing to be fixed. She also said I needed to stay out of the room (where some participants go to chill out but MANY staff also are back there and I have NEVER been alone back there so anything I may have said would have been said ar ound other staff and nothing from any staff for sure).

I was really receptive, she was nice about it, but leaving our discussion I was livid. I got:

1. I wasn't told who it was from

2. What I actually did or said wrong

3. How I could resolve it (I said to tell the participant(s) to come to me and we can resolve whatever the issue is and she said she didn't think it needed to go there...wtf)

4. She didnt contact me the FIRST time she was approached

5. This is the first time I am hearing about any issue

6.She wouldn't say if it was multiple or a singular participant (because it makes a difference)