Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

cafe mom LPNs and RNs i have a question!

Posted by on May. 29, 2013 at 6:15 PM
  • 10 Replies
Hi
Really I guess I just need advice about going about finding a job when your fresh out of school. I graduated in march and just took and passes my boards last week. My liences is active and so far I've applied to two local nursing homes. Right now I work as a unit Secretary on a cardiac unit and my Job doesnt have a LPN posting right now, this could change any day since they post new jobs daily.

I've never worked as a nurse and I'm fresh out of school and nervous!! Any advice?????
by on May. 29, 2013 at 6:15 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
skyelyns_mommie
by Gold Member on May. 29, 2013 at 6:19 PM
Bump
skyelyns_mommie
by Gold Member on May. 29, 2013 at 6:27 PM
Help?
skyelyns_mommie
by Gold Member on May. 29, 2013 at 6:27 PM
Some one?
opal10161973
by on May. 29, 2013 at 6:33 PM

I had a CNA/HHA, so I worked in the field and then was able to just keep working for the same place as an LPN after I got it.  A unit secretary position is not in the same class type as nursing, so it doesn't usually help too much.  There are some places that will use student nurses, so those would be a good place to start.  Can your school help you to find a job?  Almost every school I have seen does help their students with everything from resume's to a job board. 

skyelyns_mommie
by Gold Member on May. 29, 2013 at 6:37 PM
Eh my school isn't the best. The hospital I work for now said they would help me and I have a contract with them, they paid for part of my school and I work for the. For the next year, no big since I've already worked there 3 years And I was a pca for 2 yrs. But right now there is no posting for a LPN.

Quoting opal10161973: