Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

"I'm a volunteer firefighter - ask me anything!"

Posted by on Jun. 15, 2013 at 8:30 AM
  • 89 Replies
1 mom liked this

CafeMom member shiningjoy has been a volunteer firefighter since 2008, and she has a long family history of serving the community in this way!

Quote:

"I came from a family of firefighters: My grandfather, mother, step-father, father, brother, uncle, aunt, and several cousins.  I grew up in the fire dept.  I love it.  I am working on getting on the full time dept in my new town, I just have to get my certifications transfered over to this state.  I have my fire science degree.  I was the only girl in my class and the oldest! 

My dept averaged as many calls a year as a full time dept usually does and we didn't do EMS calls, but worked with EMS.  We covered some EMS calls when they needed help, a lot of our dept were also full time EMS.  I took my EMS class but hadn't gotten to the full time part yet.  Carbon dioxide calls, accidents, along with powerlines, trees, floods, any chemical spills, fires of course.  We taught fire safety to the preschool classes and k-4.  I also worked as a 911 dispatcher, that was my full time job."

Wondering what it's like to be a mom and a firefighter? Now's your chance to pick her brain! She'll be checking in this weekend to answer your questions.

(Click here to learn more about our featured "Ask Me Anything" featured posts and learn how to submit your own story!)

by on Jun. 15, 2013 at 8:30 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 on Jun. 15, 2013 at 8:33 AM
4 moms liked this

I have only one burning desire... let me stand next to your fire

lasombrs
by Gold Member on Jun. 15, 2013 at 8:36 AM
1 mom liked this