Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Being a SAHM is a JOB. Perform it as such...

Posted by on Jun. 17, 2013 at 9:23 AM
  • 302 Replies
7 moms liked this

I just recently became a SAHM. Prior to, I was a student and employee. I just received my B.S. in May and we're moving in October. So, DH and I made the decision that its best if i wait until we move to find employment. I have always been a hard worker. So, I approach being a Stay at home mom as my job. I work hard at it. I set goals and tasks, and I complete them in a timely manner. It's not acceptable for me to sit around when I'm at work, so I dont sit around while I'm at home as a SAHM. I say this to ask, why is it that some SAHMs act like they're on vacation?! In my opinion, if your husband is busting his ass to earn income for the family, you should work equally as hard-- whether you're working in the home or away from the home. Why is it that some SAHMs dont approach it as a job, but moreso as a break? It annoys me. Does it annoy anyone else? I feel like its those lazy SAHMs that give the rest of us hard working SAHMs a bad name! If you dont treat being a SAHM as your job-- dont expect anyone else to view it as such!

Follow me on Instagram @aaliyahsmom
by on Jun. 17, 2013 at 9:23 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
lwalker270
by Ruby Member on Jun. 17, 2013 at 9:26 AM

Eh.

I don't sit around either, we are a very active family.  

But I do not consider it a job.

lamorena774
by Bronze Member on Jun. 17, 2013 at 9:27 AM
4 moms liked this

You dont necessarily have to consider it a job. But if your husband is working hard to contribute to the family, you should be doing our part too-- equally. Whether you go to work or stay at home.

Quoting lwalker270:

Eh.

I don't sit around either, we are a very active family.  

But I do not consider it a job.