Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

If you were ever molested, sexually abused, or raped.....

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 266 Replies
1 mom liked this

how did that affect you later in life? how do you feel about it now? 

I have no experience but i am asking because my friend revealed to me she was raped by a neighbor at 7 years old. She is now 24 and says she is over it. I can't imagine being over something like that, She also said it did not really affect her at all. Once again i can't imagine not being affected by something so horrible. I saw anger in her eyes when she was talking to me about it so i don't know if she doesn't want to tell me how she really feels. She is one of my closest friends so i do feel for her. 

I am just wondering how others dealt with something like that. It really got me thinking about it a lot. 

Posted by Anonymous on Jun. 17, 2013 at 11:53 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Jun. 17, 2013 at 11:57 PM
2 moms liked this

I've always kinda pushed it into the back of my mind until recently.  I often wonder how my life would be different had I told someone.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 3 on Jun. 17, 2013 at 11:59 PM
1 mom liked this
I was raped when I was 18. It sent me into what my doctor called catatonic (Sp?) depression. I ended up pregnant and kept my child however, I was barely able to get up to care for my child.
I was a virgin when I was raped and have been pretty much terrufied of sex ever since. I have trouble trusting guys and it took me 4 years before I would even go out with friends again.
I am still in therapy and still severly depressed. I dont think I will ever get over it, but I do think that eventually I will be able to live with it and become who I was supposed to become.