Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Did I have a concern here or am I just paranoid?

Posted by on Jun. 29, 2013 at 8:17 PM
  • 68 Replies

So we moved into this new house and haven't gotten around to getting a washer and dryer yet. We go to the laundry mat. 

We (my five year old son and I) went there earlier today. These two guys came in. I thought nothing of it. They were black. When I say black I mean they weren't from America. The one that was talking to me told me where he was from, but I couldn't really understand. He had a thick accent and spoke French. So somewhere in Africa. He came over and started asking me about how much the dryers were. Then the he asked me about what my major was-wasn't freaky that he knew I went to that school, I was wearing a college t-shirt. I explained that I graduated and have my Master's.  He says he's an engineer, either going or teaching at the school, I couldnt' understand what he said. 

Anyways, there's a lot of small talk. Then he asks me if I'm married. I told him no. I then mention that I don't want to get married. He said, "You're the prettiest American I''ve met that has ever said that.' I thought, really?! Than you're looking at some weird Americans. 

This whole time he's talking to me my son is talking to his friend on the other end of the room. I asked him if my son was bothering them, and that I'd tell him to stop. He says no that he enjoys talking to kids. 

My problem is, I got this really weird feeling from it. I felt like he was distracting me so the friend can kidnapp my son, or us both. I ended up calling my mom and making my son talk to her for thirty minutes until I was done (there was no one else there but us four).