Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

I got married at 17, everyone said we would fail, they were right....

Posted by on Jul. 3, 2013 at 5:42 PM
  • 181 Replies
15 moms liked this

Kind of. We have failed, A LOT. The road hasn't been easy, but it has been worth it. This Jan we have been together 10 years, and today is our 9th Wedding Anniversary :) We have two beautiful daughters and a baby (hopefully a boy) on the way!

***EDIT*** I've seen some snarky comments on how much "help" we or others got because we married young as well as questions about PA. First of all I think PA is great for people who need a helping hand. Fortunately for us, we have not needed it, nor needed help from family members.

I graduated H.S. at 16yrs old and was already in college when I met my husband. My husband was graduated, he was 17 when we met. I had also graduated H.S. with my CNA license and was working on the maternity floor at a local hospital making $14 hr. w/ full benefits, which was pretty good money for a 16yr old girl. My husband was working at a local granite company making $10 hr. which again wasn't bad for a 17yr old. 

I did have a big fairytail wedding thanks to my mom, but that is as far as the help went. By the time we had our first daughter my husband was making enough money for me to stop working and stay at home. After our second was a year old I went back to work. 

Not that it matters, but we also weren't going out kind of people. The first time we spent a night away from our daughters was for our 5th wedding anniversary at which point our oldest was four. So we didn't even have "help" watching our children.

My point is that although we were young, we didn't depend on the government or others to support us. 

7/3/04

2013 ( I know we look a hot mess, this was taken after spending all day at universal lol)

Our girls <3