Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Has anyone ever done this? *foster kitten questions!!!**

Posted by on Jul. 5, 2013 at 5:53 PM
FAT
  • 8 Replies
We are going to be short term foster for 3 kittens starting tomorrow for 1-2 weeks.

I have never done this before! I forget the exact age they are but I was told they have already been fixed and are litter trained, so they are not really tiny or anything.

I have to set aside a "kitten zone" in my house where they are contained but can move around safely. They recommended an extra bedroom (don't have one) or laundry room.

I think I'm going to take my sons frame off the bed and just put the box spring/mattress on the floor so they can't crawl up under and hide in the box spring. They can be in there for most of the day, my son is excited about that. He's 9.

I don't really want them in there at night though, I think they will keep him up mewing and playing. I was thinking the laundry room at night? But I don't know how to fix it so they can't get between the washer/dryer and hide behind the machines?

Does this sound like a decent set up? How can I block off the spaces between the laundry machines and wall so they can't get lost back there?

Any other tips or anything if you have done a foster thing before for kittens? We are excited but I just want to make sure I do everything right.
by on Jul. 5, 2013 at 5:53 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
ThatSkinnyGirl
by FAT on Jul. 5, 2013 at 6:00 PM
Nothing? No drama?
HappySquirrel
by on Jul. 5, 2013 at 6:05 PM