Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

*Update* Yep, you were a b**** to the wrong person. Good luck with that.

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 114 Replies
12 moms liked this
My boss and I are doing open interviews tomorrow, and the funniest thing happened on Monday! Background info; I've been a manager in a retail setting for a few months now, and I've worked there for about a year total.
On Monday, I was helping a lady with an exchange, and she was being super condescending and rude to me. She kept trying to correct me while I was explaining things to her and looked at me like I was some dumb kid that was going to screw things up for her (I'm 27, but look much younger, and I had my hair up in a ponytail, which didn't help). I was having no trouble whatsoever in helping her, but she still kept interrupting me and talking to me like I was an idiot. I just stayed professional and tried to keep being patient and clear.
When I'd finished with her, she pointed at my co-manager and asked "is that *T*?" I said yes, and he walked over and started talking to him, sweet as pie, and handed him an application. He told her, "the next step would be to come to our open interviews between four and eight on Wednesday. I'd say I'm looking forward to it, but I won't be here; you'll be interviewing with *M* [store manager who is leaving and passing the gauntlet to *T* and myself] or *D*" *motions to me*
I just smiled. The look on her face was PRICELESS!
That's right. The woman you were just so incredibly rude to will be doing your interview, and should you be hired (because of your obvious people skills), she'll be your manager. Have a great day.

Moral of the story? If you are applying for a job somewhere, be nice to every employee you encounter. You never know which one you'll want to like you. ;D

UPDATE