Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

My kids do not have a summer

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post

We homeschool year round. They do not have a summer. It has allowed all of my kids to graduate early and start college early. They enjoy it. When we go on vacations we bring the school work with us and use our vacation as a teaching experience. Now that all of them are teens they are all focused at getting their school done asap so they can go to college. 

Posted by Anonymous on Jul. 11, 2013 at 11:13 AM
Replies (11-20):
Mommy2b2many
by on Jul. 11, 2013 at 11:31 AM
That's awesome. I was homeschooled year around; so I graduated at 16 :)
Anonandon
by on Jul. 11, 2013 at 11:39 AM
I see. I definitely agree with you there. Sometimes I wish I could go at my own pace. I'm taking a music class right now that is dragging on. Finishing early would have been much better.
Quoting Anonymous:

We originally had breaks but i would always find my kids "sneaking in" school work. I found the go at your own pace works a lot better. They are able to get through things that are easy for them fast and take longer on things they need to work on. It doesnt overload them and they enjoy it 

Quoting Anonandon:

This. I'm in school year round, but all of my sessions have a 2-3 week break except for 1 (our august-october ends and the october-december session starts the next day). Everyone needs a little break.

Quoting Lizardannie1966:

At what minimum age are kid's allowed to start college in your area?

My primary concern would be burn-out on the part of your kid's.

Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Jul. 11, 2013 at 11:43 AM

Quoting Lizardannie1966:

At what minimum age are kid's allowed to start college in your area?

My primary concern would be burn-out on the part of your kid's.

I'm not OP but in my state any K-12 student can take CC classes with professor permission.

Anonymous