Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Homeschooling

Posted by on Jul. 12, 2013 at 5:20 AM
  • 3 Replies
I am looking for information and opinions on homeschooling.
Anything you can give me is great.

Where do you start?
Where do you obtain a curriculum?
What is a scheduled day like?
Etc.
by on Jul. 12, 2013 at 5:20 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-3):
lilypad12788
by Gold Member on Jul. 12, 2013 at 6:40 AM
The very first thing you should do is google and see if you have a homeschool group in your area. They usually have someone that helps talk things over with new people or people who are curious about home schooling.

2nd, join a home schooling group on here. They are really nice and they have lots of links posted for information.

I only know about Christian curriculum, since that's what my mom used with me and what I will use with DD when she's big enough.
sha_lyn68
by Platinum Member on Jul. 15, 2013 at 1:49 AM

Where do you start?

I usually suggest starting with the beginning to homeschool section over at A to Z. No need for me to try to come up with something clever when Ann does it so well: http://homeschooling.gomilpitas.com/directory/Beginning.htm#.UeOLbY3Yc-I

Where do you obtain a curriculum?

 I started with boxed curriculum from Calvert School and some place I don't even remember the name of anymore. I figured out very quickly that boxed curriculum was not a good fit for either one of my kids. Where you get it is really all going to depend on why method(s) you decide on. We are rather eclectic. Here a list of pretty much everything we've liked over the years along with some free or inexpensive resources that I've gathered over the years:

Science:

Great Science Adventures- http://www.commonsensepress.com/greatscience/default.htm

Power Basics Chemistry (order from rainbow resource center linked below). The textbook is a bit more rigorous than described. It is a good course but was a bit advanced by my 6th grader.

Connect the Thoughts Upper Level Science Basics and Biology & Human Health

 

Language Arts:

Easy Grammar & Easy Writing- http://www.easygrammar.com/index2.html

Writing Strands: http://www.writing-strands.com/home.asp

Handwriting Without Tears- http://www.hwtears.com/

Megawords- http://www.learningthings.com/searchresult.asp

 

Math

Singapore Math- http://www.singaporemath.com/

Teaching Textbooks: http://teachingtextbooks.com/

 

Foreign Language

Lively Latin: http://livelylatin.com/site/index.php

 

History:

Story of the World: http://www.welltrainedmind.com/store/history-and-geography/story-of-the-world.html (I would recommend using in with History Odyssey level I instead of buying the SOTW activity pages)

History Odyssey: http://www.pandiapress.com/history_odyssey.htm (also has science but I did not find out about them until my daughter was too old for the courses they currently offer in science)

Power Basics World History II (order from rainbow resource center linked below)

We order most of ours from:

Learning Things: http:// www.learningthings.com/index.asp

Rainbow Resource Center: http:// rainbowresource.com/index.php

Connect The Thoughts: http:// www.connectthethoughts.net/

 

Here is a list of free and inexpensive resources I have gathered over the years.. We have not used all of them as of yet:

http:// homeschooling.gomilpitas.com/materials/Free.htm

http:// www.freelyeducate.com/

http://homeschoolbuyersco-op.org/

http://charlottemasoneducation.com/

http://amblesideonline.org/

http://www.k-12freehomeschool.org/

http://www.help-4-your-homeschool.com/free_homeschooling.html

http:// www.msnucleus.org/curriculum/curriculum.html

http://www.khanacademy.org/

What is a scheduled day like?  I'm not big on scheduling our days unless there is a reason to such as a class outside of the home. 

villagemamma
by Platinum Member on Jul. 15, 2013 at 1:53 AM

I was homeschooled. Academically it was excellent. i graduated early and was able to move on to college and handle the work better then most but i was SEVERELY lacking in the social aspects. Make sure to allow your kids to explore sports, music and other clubs (co ops are always awesome)

I usually did school 5 days a week. book work from 9-12 and then what my parents called "Skill building". This included studying things that interested us, practising musical instruments and learning about basic grown up tasks like cooking, grocery shopping, balancing a check book, etc...

Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)