Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Dh wants to get rid of the dog...

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 61 Replies

THIS TURNED OUT LONGER THEN I EXPECTED BUT PLEASE, PLEASE READ!!

So a family friend had bought a "cockapoo" back in january...they had been having a VERY hard time training the dog. My mom was talking to the wife a few months ago and the she told my mom that they were getting ready to drop the dog off at the spca because they just couldn't handle her anymore. My mom told her to hold off on doing that and she would look around to see if she could find anyone to take the dog.

Now me being a dog lover, it broke my heart when my mom told me this. My mom had no luck in finding anyone to take her. I talked to dh and we decided that this was something we could do. I have some experience training dogs, not much, and I am a sahm so knew I would have the time to put in to train her and work with her.

Well it's not going good AT ALL. We've had a personal trainer come in, I've taken her to pet training at petsmart and she is still TERRIBLE. She will randomly pee and poop whenever she feels like it, she chews on the furniture even after spraying the bitter apple stuff constantly throughout the day. She doesn't listen AT ALL..the only time she listens is when I tell her to sit, and even with that it's mainly just whenever she feels like listening. I talked to the trainer and she said that the dog just needs more time...she was allowed to do whatever she wanted before we got her, no one trained her, no one house broke her so she developed bad habits, and with some dogs it just takes longer to break them of those habits.

Dh has been getting beyond fed up with the dog but I always manage to talk him down and remind him what the trainer said. That it will get better, it's just going to take time.