Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

All black colleges ... made me wonder....(question to all) **update**

Posted by on Jul. 16, 2013 at 4:33 PM
  • 144 Replies
2 moms liked this

I am really considering transferring to one, or at least applying.

I think I might experience culture shock if I actually ended up going to one.

I live in California, and in an area that is diverse.  My mom, who is actually white, gave me the idea, she said it's not just a college of people from the same background, it's a learning experience.

I have about 6 months to decide on which ones to apply to, I need to research because my major isn't offered everywhere. It would be for a Master's program.

So question to you

Do you think you would experience a culture shock going to an environment where it mainly had people of your ethnicity&(or)race?

and then 

Based on your answer above...Why?

Do you live in a multi-cultural area?

Is the place you live right now mainly people of your same ethnicity/race or are you the minority where you live as well? (yes, white people are the minority in some areas)

(if you can't imagine it I guess if you are Indian, and you've never been to India but then went, you'd suddenly be around people that look like your family, advertisements with actors who look like your neighbors, stores with food for the food of your culture, etc etc etc)

One mom from a mommy meet up I went to was from Hawaii, she was White.  She said she grew up being the minority at her school.  She moved here and she said it was weird seeing so many other white people. She said it's nice but she said "I think it's a good experience for everyone to experience both types of living" both as a minority and as a majority(for example)