Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Are you poor? Do you still give?

Both DH and I are disabled and I am a full time student. We don't have very much money and live on a fixed income.

With that being said my son has no idea of how little money we have. My mom got him a $75 season pass to Story Land in NH. We take him for 50 cent ice cream cones at Burger King. He will have an ice cream at McDonalds and use the play area. We also go to the park a lot. He has had a lot of things to do this summer.

We still find a way to give to people who have less than us.

If you are poor and would like to help you can donate many gently used items to homeless shelters, donate used toys in good condition to a state funded daycare program, or simply just give a homeless person on the side of the road a few bucks or get them a cheap meal. Also it's always a good idea to walk around a city in the winter with blankets that are no longer being used and hand them out. If you knit or crochet project Linus will take handmade blankets for donation to children in need.
by on Jul. 20, 2013 at 6:25 PM
Replies (21-30):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 5 on Jul. 20, 2013 at 6:49 PM

I don't want to finance someone elses bad habit. I don't mind giving  to  help feed someone but i do not want to help someone get wasted.

Quoting I_RitShainbows:

I don't personally care what they use the money for. As long as they are happy.

Quoting Anonymous:

I am poor i do donate our old clothes because i have had to use the the goodwill myself from time to time. as far as giving money i usually use my better judgement on that. I tend not to do it because i worry that they will use it for beer. but i have from time to time. one time I was at a store and a homeless man asked me for a $1 for something eat at first i wasn't going to give it to him but my 13 year old dd beg me to help him out so i gave him $5.