Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Adopting a dog is like adopting a baby.

Posted by   + Show Post
Kind of.

Dh and I have been thinking about getting another dog. Not this week or next-but sometime around the end of the year or beginning of the new year. We lost our male chi a few weeks ago. It seems as though our female chi is adjusting okay so we don't think another companion is necessary for her and with DS starting school in the fall we want to wait and see how he adjusts to that. We both plan to volunteer at DS' school and he's also doing soccer so a puppy that's a few months old will be hard to train on top of all that. We also both work full time and I'm a full time student PLUS I have a part-time job (I work retail. Its like I'm NEVER home during the holidays between school and work). So we really want to get all of that under control and get through the holiday season before getting another puppy.

I was thinking we could adopt. We've gotten our past two dogs from breeders because I really wanted a certain breed and chihuahuas-they can be kind of neurotic. We wanted a puppy so we knew what we were getting. That might sound harsh but with a little kid I didn't want to risk having an older dog that could have some left over issues from their former owners. I felt better raising the dog from very early on. It worked better for our family.