Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Autism/Vaccines Question...

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 17 Replies

If more percentages of parents are choosing not to vaccinate their children in fear of Autism, why is the Autism rate still climbing?

This thought just occurred to me after a friendly debate with my anti-vaxxing SIL. The CDC (obviously) doesn't cite vaccines as a cause on their Autism page, but they do cite reasons such as premature births and older parents as being potential causes. It's just my opinion, I'm no doctor, but I'm going to guess that more premature babies are surviving infancy than ever before; maybe there is a real link there? And there are a lot more older couples having children thanks to great strides in fertility treatments and options; doesn't it sound feasible?

Posted by Anonymous on Jul. 28, 2013 at 10:49 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Jul. 28, 2013 at 10:50 AM

pharma is paying to cover it up

Anonymous
by Anonymous on Jul. 28, 2013 at 10:52 AM
1 mom liked this

And, no less parents are not vaxing today, as 20yrs ago...the numbers not vaxing has not changed, acorrding to the cdc...98% of kids are fully vaxed

Anonymous
by Anonymous on Jul. 28, 2013 at 10:52 AM

I was born at 37 weeks by emergency c section because I had the umbilical cord wrapped so tightly around my neck that my heartrate dropped to almost nothing.  My mom had went in for a routine appointment that day, and they couldn't find my heartbeat.  

I have Aspergers.  I've no idea if the two are related in any way.

notjstanothrmom
by Ruby Member on Jul. 28, 2013 at 10:53 AM
1 mom liked this
I don't vaccinate but my reasons are much more than a possible Autism trigger.
fiddlerbird555
by on Jul. 28, 2013 at 10:54 AM
1 mom liked this