Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How much more do you owe on your mortgage?

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post
Is your home still worth more than what you paid for it? Home prices are creeping up again.
Posted by Anonymous on Jul. 31, 2013 at 3:05 PM
Replies (61-70):
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Jul. 31, 2013 at 4:40 PM
We bought our home 5 years ago for $205,000. We still owe about $9,000. It's current value is about $280,000.
meg0620
by Gold Member on Jul. 31, 2013 at 4:40 PM
Oh I didn't know that it was like 13 years ago lol.

Quoting Anonymous:

By the way... they are not called blueprints anymore (unless it was back in the day when they were literally copied onto blue paper) they are called plans or construction documents... - I am an intern architect (not the same one as previous poster in this thread)

Quoting meg0620:

That sounds cool! I definitely want to build. I remember my dad made blueprints for a house he was going to get built and we were so excited and they ended up selling the land and just buying a house :( we were so disappointed.

Quoting Anonymous:

Yes, you would still get a pre approval for a loan from the bank! Then your architect would design a house then you take it back to the bank for the approval! It's not a typical mortgage in one lump sum, they give out money in installments and you must provide photos and recipes of progress before they give you more money! It sounds like an intense process but it is so much more rewarding knowing it is exactly what you want! :)

Quoting meg0620:

We would never be able to pay for that out of pocket, so do people still get loans even though they're building a house?

Quoting Anonymous: