Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Will you look at my cover letter?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 11 Replies

Hi Ladies,

I recently found a great job opportunity as a lab manager and I've been working on my cover letter. Will you read this and tell me if it sounds professional. Do you think it is too long? How might I go about making the letter more concise? I would love any input! I posted the job posting below in blue. THANKS!

Dear ___________,

This letter is to express my interest in bringing my excellent laboratory and research skills to __company_____. I feel very strongly that my organizational skills and educational experience will prove to be a great benefit to your team. I am a graduate of ___university___ with ___degrees listed____. This position has a definite correlation with my practical knowledge and experience. You will see from my curriculum vitae (CV) that I have been deeply involved in research at ___university___.

As my enclosed CV indicates, my background includes more than three years of service in scientific laboratories with significant experience in:

• Experience in maintaining, troubleshooting, and organizing laboratory testing instrumentation.
  • Understanding laboratory equipment maintenance, setup, and supply ordering.
  • Preparing, interpreting, and presenting data using statistical programs.
  • Utilizing aseptic surgery techniques, microscopy skills, and various scientific instruments.
  • Creating development and training plans for personnel within the laboratory.
  • Undertaking practical laboratory investigations in a safe, responsible, and ethical manner.

In addition to the above skills, I can also offer you:

• Ability to adapt to new testing equipment and protocols. 
  • Ability to plan and prioritize daily laboratory procedures.
  • Ability to work cooperatively and effectively both independently and in a team environment.