Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

S/O Military wanting discounts....

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 68 Replies
2 moms liked this
My husband served, and is now a disabled veteran - due to his service... While he was in, we never asked for discounts either. I mean hell, we alread had free water bill, lights and gas, garbage bill and free medical. ( while living on the base). We were gratefull for that alone. Sure if a business states they give discounts to active duty then great. But It does piss me off when they go into ANY business and ask for it. Im a small business owner myself, and I have a family and a disabled husband ( due to him being in the military) I'm not a franchise nor a huge corp. My prices are already low and very reasonable, so to come to me and ask me for a discount and sometimes even a free-be, that really pisses me off! While I appreciate anyone who serves, I didn't ask you to serve nor did I encourage you to do so. That was YOUR choice. I think it's shitty to go into a small family owned business and ask for a discount. Especially with the way the economy already is.... So you think it's better for me to take from my family's table to give you the chance to save a few dollars? I don't think so. ANd I would rather NOT have them as customers if all they want are discounts and free-bees!
Posted by Anonymous on Aug. 7, 2013 at 1:44 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
lwalker270
by Ruby Member on Aug. 7, 2013 at 1:46 PM
6 moms liked this

All you have to do is politely say no.

Problem solved.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Aug. 7, 2013 at 1:46 PM
1 mom liked this

I get it.

It's one thing to take advantage of a discount that's already being offered, but to ask for one everywhere you go smacks of entitlement.

Sekirei
by LoKitty on Aug. 7, 2013 at 1:47 PM
7 moms liked this