Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Put my kids in school so I can work

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 16 Replies

We have been a Homeschooling family for years. We believe in HS and are children are excelling. However, finances got tight,our circumstances shifted, and I found myself back on the job market. DH normally brings in what should be, and has been, a liveable wage for years but he got his job by climbing the ladder and now that his last position was eliminated, he's had to take a nearly entry-level job. I have a degree and I can make more out of the gate, so when I was offered this position after a lengthy hiring process I couldn't say "no". Good pay, unionized, excellent benefits, and right up my alley. I feel like I'm choosing myself over my kids. I could get a night job and still homeschool, but no-- I chose to take this daytime job. My kids aren't happy (well, one is) and now tthere's this rush to pick their school (admittedly,I'm enjoying this part) order uniforms, and buy supplies. All because I "gotta" have this job. I feel bad. Happy that I'm able to provide for my kids. Sad that I am compromising our beliefs and educational standards for my own professional fulfillment.

Posted by Anonymous on Aug. 18, 2013 at 10:11 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Aug. 18, 2013 at 10:11 AM

So the kids are going to public school now so you can work?

PrissyAnne
by on Aug. 18, 2013 at 10:12 AM
Why can't dad homeschool them?
IamMex11
by JorgematoTM on Aug. 18, 2013 at 10:14 AM
3 moms liked this
You are doing it to HELP

Quoting Anonymous: