Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Please do not do this to your kids...

As a kindergarten teacher, I always have a few kids that cry on the first day of school. It is normal and usually I have to deal with parents that hover over their kids when they cry. They are annoying but at least they are showing that they care about their child. This parent just pissed me off.

These people just moved to my area. The school in their old district had not started yet so, when they moved here, he had to go for his first day. He did not go to pre-k so he was scared on his first day. His mother walked him to class and, when she started to leave, he began crying. I did what I normally did for all children who cry. I tried to get him involved but he grabbed onto his mother's pant legs. She turned to him and huffed "Let me go, cry baby!" and she swatted at him like she was going to hit him. He flopped down on the floor and started crying harder. His mother rolled her eyes and said "I've got to go. Can you handle the cry baby or do I just need to take him to my mother's" I told her that I could handle him and I would see if I could calm him down. She glared at him and then yelled "STOP CRYING! THERE IS NO REASON TO CRY! SHUT UP!" I told her the child was not going to calm down as long as she was screaming at him. Then she turned on me. "Oh, so you're going to tell me what to do with my own Goddamn kid? What do you know about raising kids?" (Hello! Four years of college and three, soon to be four kids, but yeah, what do I know about kids?). "Don't you judge me because you're knocked up and think you know everything about being a parent. I know how to talk to my own Goddamn kid and you are not better than I am!" and she turned around and stomped out. It was surprisingly easy to calm the child after "Mommy Dearest" left.