Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

fingerprints and class to volunteer?

Posted by on Aug. 23, 2013 at 3:45 PM
  • 67 Replies
I received a letter from my son's school saying no I c volunteer to do anything (we are required to volunteer 5hours) I have to be fingerprinted and take a 3.5 hour class. Anyone else have to do this?
by on Aug. 23, 2013 at 3:45 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
3JuJu3
by Platinum Member on Aug. 23, 2013 at 3:47 PM

No, but I was fingerprinted when I was a teacher.  I think a 3.5 class is a little much for a parent volunteer.  

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 on Aug. 23, 2013 at 3:49 PM
no, but our girls softball league required a background check to volunteer. they found themselves short by a lot of hands who didn't want to go through the hassel.
goochie
by Bronze Member on Aug. 23, 2013 at 3:49 PM
1 mom liked this

Yes, it is becoming a requirement in lots of states. Both my husband and I volunteered at our kids schools and only the last 3 years did we have to be finger printed.  I think it is a good thing.  Safety for the kids should always be first! We did not have to take a class , but did have to pay for the background check and fingerprinting ourselves.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Aug. 23, 2013 at 3:49 PM

No, just a background check, I think.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 3 on Aug. 23, 2013 at 3:49 PM
I had to have a background check to volunteer at my dd's school. A class seems excessive.
mommybug77
by on Aug. 23, 2013 at 3:51 PM
I have to have a background check to be a room mom or do anything besides for chaperone if I am directly with kids.
smack05
by Bronze Member on Aug. 23, 2013 at 3:53 PM
Yes to both she goes to private school
Jemmy
by on Aug. 23, 2013 at 4:01 PM