Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How does verbal abuse help autism?

Posted by on Aug. 28, 2013 at 5:54 AM
  • 29 Replies

I have been doing some research on Autism for several articles (I'm a content writer for health and natural healing sites). I have been around children with Autism, my nephew is on the spectrum. I have seen him have meltdowns, freak out, scream, yell, stay calm, "check out", and everything inbetween. Tonight while doing research I came across this video. I was shocked at first then I was pissed. 

I don't see a concerned parent here. I don't see a parent trying to help. I see a parent flipping on a camera and making a spectacle out of his son. Using his son to make some sort of "Autism is hard" point. Which yes, it is, but what he does is over the top. He lets the child have something he knows he is about to take away AND he knows and tells the viewer that the child is going to freak out. He even says "he doesn't fully understand why I'm going to take this away." He uses the child for his point, talks about the child as if the child is not in the room, continues to talk to the viewer as if the son isn't there, and uses some clinically sounding terms like "what you'll see here," and "what you are about to see is..."  It's disgusting. So, explain to me, how the hell is verbal abuse, using your child as some sort of poster child for your point, and recording him like he is a side show freak for your pleasure supposed to help or show love to your child???? 

I'm just shocked that anyone would think this video is okay, yet people are all on the parents side. No one seems to  notice the verbal abuse and emotional abuse he is inflicting on the child during the video. You want to tell me how bad it is and how hard it is...fine...tell me all day. Do it in a private video. Don't act like your kid isn't there while you treat him like a side show for Youtube.