Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

No one is getting educated!

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 92 Replies

My school mainstreams. I have no problem with mainstreaming Special Education, I think the idea is great. However, the way it is playing out doesn't seem to work, IMO.

I am a brand new teacher,I got hired three days into the new school year. Many, many people have told me that my first year teaching, the kids learn in spite of me, not because of me. Yes, I have a degree and am certified but my real education begins now. I'm all up for that. 

We have soo many SPED kids at our school, I don't understand why all teachers aren't required to have SPED certification. If you don't know anything about SPED, this is what I have discovered so far:

First, SPED covers a huge range of abilities. I have kids that are very high functioning and many that are not. We also have separate campuses depending on their level of ability.

Next, for the kids who are mainstreamed, several of them are supposed to have "In-class support" which means that a person with SPED certification is supposed to be in class with them. However, the ICS (in class support paraprofessional- sped certified) is only assigned to be with each child for a certain amount of time per week. The max I have seen is 90 minutes.

So, 90 minutes for 8 different classes over the period of a week. What this means is that the SPED certified teacher (which, btw, I found out that many of the ones I work with don't even consider themselves teachers. They feel like babysitters) only spends about 5 minutes per day in certain classes- their core content classes.

I'm not even going to rant and rave about this taking time away from other students because I do think that with more experience, I will get better at it. And we have some teachers who are not SPED certified who are amazing with these kids.