Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

OPPS I outed my SIL

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 140 Replies

Poll

Question: Do you think that I am at fault?

Options:

Yes

No

Other

Only group members can vote in this poll.

Total Votes: 245

View Results

DH's parents had a cookout on Labor Day so we went over with the kids. SIL was there, she is 20 years old and just found out she is pregnant, her fiance' was there too. They got engaged right after she told him she was pregnant.

Well, she was showing her ultrasound picture around and I am an ultrasound tech and I work in an OBGYN's office. I thought the picture was strange because she said she was 7 weeks but this baby was about 10-12 weeks. I asked her if anyone had mentioned that maybe she could be further because this baby looks much more developed then 7 weeks. I was not suspicious that she was doing anything wrong, it was just out of concern because sometimes if you get a newer tech or one who doesn't know what she is doing and your dates are off this can go unrealized. I know that her OBGYN's office has a bad reputation of making mistakes like this but they are one of the few that accept pregnancy medicaid, which is what she is on.

Her fiance' looked worried, I thought he was worried something was wrong and kind of regretted saying anything so I said "it's not a problem, it's just this baby looks more developed and it's just something maybe she should ask about at the next visit".