Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

My b**** coworker is trying to get me fired because of my kid's needs

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post

I'm a single mom to an 8 year old and my daughter has some anxiety issues. They flare up especially at the beginning of the school year, and I have had to leave 5 times this week and last week already. 

I'm a manager at a company and work closely with another girl. She's 24, just out of college and obviously doesn't have any kids. We have a set amount of work that we need to get through a day. When I have to leave suddenly because my daugher is having a panic attack or can't calm down at school, she does have to pick up the slack for the rest of the day.

She is complaining to our bosses that it's unfair that I am leaving so often and leaving her with all the work. She's claiming I'm not pulling my weight. My boss wants to have a meeting tomorrow to discuss it.

I'm fuming. 

Posted by Anonymous on Sep. 4, 2013 at 12:10 AM
Replies (51-60):
Girl-Friday
by on Sep. 4, 2013 at 12:38 AM

you're in the wrong.

Pincher
by on Sep. 4, 2013 at 12:41 AM
2 moms liked this

FMLA anyone? If its a medical condition documented by her Doctor - you could probably use FMLA to keep your job protected. 

pookiward
by on Sep. 4, 2013 at 12:43 AM
Why are you mad? I'm sorry your daughter has these problems but, it's not your coworkers fault and i can't blame her for being upset at a doubled work load.

Quoting Anonymous:

I'm a single mom to an 8 year old and my daughter has some anxiety issues. They flare up especially at the beginning of the school year, and I have had to leave 5 times this week and last week already.