Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

My b**** coworker is trying to get me fired because of my kid's needs

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post

I'm a single mom to an 8 year old and my daughter has some anxiety issues. They flare up especially at the beginning of the school year, and I have had to leave 5 times this week and last week already. 

I'm a manager at a company and work closely with another girl. She's 24, just out of college and obviously doesn't have any kids. We have a set amount of work that we need to get through a day. When I have to leave suddenly because my daugher is having a panic attack or can't calm down at school, she does have to pick up the slack for the rest of the day.

She is complaining to our bosses that it's unfair that I am leaving so often and leaving her with all the work. She's claiming I'm not pulling my weight. My boss wants to have a meeting tomorrow to discuss it.

I'm fuming. 

Posted by Anonymous on Sep. 4, 2013 at 12:10 AM
Replies (61-70):
WheelerWife
by Silver Member on Sep. 4, 2013 at 12:50 AM

I'm sorry your dd is having a hard time, but your coworker is right to complain.

If the roles were reversed, and you were 24 with no kids and no knowledge about how hard having kids is, would you complain?

Hopefully your your boss will understand your situation and your daughter will start having a better time at school. 

Caera
by on Sep. 4, 2013 at 12:52 AM

It is unfair. I'd be pissed too.

WheelerWife
by Silver Member on Sep. 4, 2013 at 12:52 AM

That's brilliant!! I keep forgetting it exists for just this kind of situation. 

FMLA would be worth looking into. Maybe OP could get a few weeks off at the beginning of the school year to help her dd adjust. 

Quoting Pincher:

FMLA anyone? If its a medical condition documented by her Doctor - you could probably use FMLA to keep your job protected. 

curious1145
by Bronze Member on Sep. 4, 2013 at 12:53 AM