Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

More patient with other children over own..

Posted by on Sep. 5, 2013 at 2:47 PM
  • 9 Replies
I have been working in the child education field for about 11 years.I am super duper patient with other children.But when It comes to my own,my patient is wearing down.Is it because I expect more from them or am I being a not so good mommy??
by on Sep. 5, 2013 at 2:47 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
momtolittleg
by Platinum Member on Sep. 5, 2013 at 2:50 PM
1 mom liked this
I don't know, but I'm the same way! My child totally tries my patience. My students sometimes get to me, but not like my own. Maybe I hold my dd to higher expectations? You're not alone!! :)
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Sep. 5, 2013 at 2:50 PM

You're a good mommy...it is just what tends to happen.

I've worked with hurting teens now for a couple of years and also feel as if I have more patience with them than my own kids.  

But, I also know my own kids will hold me to a higher standard as well because I work with hurting teens....so, it holds me accountable to 'stretch' my patience and apply it to both.

Best wishes...at least you are aware of it and can begin doing what you can to overcome it. :)

And, I'd be glad for  you to be working with my kids, it's good to know you are this way....that other peoples children can be trusted in your care :)

MommyOf2341
by on Sep. 5, 2013 at 2:59 PM
Aww thank you!I realized it after all these years opening up a childcare in my home.When my kids get home i want them to do this and that,the right way or else grounded (things get taken away.) But with other kids I have the patient to get on their level and speak to them.I aggravate myself,I don't think it's my kids.Haha.Mommy needs a "me time" asap!

Quoting Anonymous:

You're a good mommy...it is just what tends to happen.