Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

How did you ladies go about choosing a daycare?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 4 Replies

My son is 5 and I need to find a daycare for him for after school one day a week. I found an ad on craigslist that looks nice and based on the general description it sounds like its in the right area for me to catch the bus that I need to get on. Its a home based day care but it has a license from the state of Caifornia. She is cpr/first aid certified. The ad says it offers hourly and drop in rates which is what I will need because its only one afternoon a week. I am going to call and make an appointment to meet the care provider and take a look around her home. I would like to know who else lives there and if she has other people hired to help her. Is there anything else I should look for or ask about? This is my first time hiring a babysitter outside of leaving my son with family so I am not sure what to expect.

Posted by Anonymous on Sep. 8, 2013 at 4:01 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-4):
Nunyabusiness
by on Sep. 8, 2013 at 4:02 PM

Ask to see all her licenses and certifications. Ask if she's dealt with a bus rider before. 

Anonymous
by Anonymous - Original Poster on Sep. 8, 2013 at 4:04 PM

Is it rude to ask to actually see the licence and stuff? I would love to be able to actually look at it myself but I don't want to insult her. I will also make sure to explain about the bus schedule.

Quoting Nunyabusiness:

Ask to see all her licenses and certifications. Ask if she's dealt with a bus rider before. 

Nunyabusiness
by on Sep. 8, 2013 at 4:06 PM

Absolutely not! This is your baby and his safety. I once did what she did and I had to have everything posted in plain sight for the parents to see.

Anonymous
by Anonymous - Original Poster on Sep. 8, 2013 at 4:12 PM