Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Just got an awkward email from a student......she doesnt want me talking about evolution....

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 87 Replies

Long story short I am a Adjunct professor at a community college. It is my first semester actually teaching classes on my own. Well I am teaching Invertebrate Biology. I got an email from my student telling me that she is offended that I am talking about evolution in the class because of her religion. Now dont get me long I am all for people being religious that is great if that is what they want....but this is a Biology class....The course objective for the class is

Course objectives: This course will introduce you to all animals, with th exception of cephalochordates and five classes of the subphylum Vertebrata. The emphasis will be evolution, form and function. At the end of this course, you will be familiar with animals that most folks never dream of, and you will have a context in which to place all advanced animal studies. 

This is said in the syllabus which is available to all students about 2 weeks before classes start. I honestly thought she was joking at first but when she came to lab and left when I was talking about evolution. Is it not common sense that biology is all about evolution? I havent said this to her or anything but if you dont believe in evolution getting a biology or biology like degree is probably not the way to go.

I am meeting with the department head on tuesday to talk about what the recommend for the situation. i do not want to say or do something wrong.... I guess I am a little shocked. I dont think you should ask a teacher to stop talking about one of the main subjects of the class no matter what it is. IDK i guess I am just rambling at this point 

Posted by Anonymous on Sep. 8, 2013 at 8:14 PM
Add your quick reply below: