Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

I Am Thinking of Becoming A Foster Parent...What Would You Do?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 13 Replies

I am a pediatric nurse at the hospital. Our children's ward has a playroom with toys and movies and such. About a year ago, I noticed an 11 year old girl that was coming in a lot to hang out, watch movies, and nap on the couch. I talked to her and found out that her mother had cancer and she was dying. She road the bus to the hospital every day after school and spent all day with her mother. She often ate dinner there too. She started walking around the hospital and found the children's ward and hung out there when her mother was sleeping or having tests run. When they gave her mother only a few more months to live, her father let her go. He quit coming up to the hospital because it was too hard for him to see her like that. He did well to come once a week for a quick visit. So the LITTLE GIRL was taking care of her mother in the hospital. I started spending time with her, counseling her, helping her with homework, and listening to her. After her mother died, she still visited me. I have even seen her out side of the hospital. I took her out for her 12th birthday, went to her school play and her band concert, and I have spent a lot of time with her. She has told me that her father has been drinking heavily and he won't talk to her. He pretends like she isn't in the house. I tried talking to him and he flat out told me that he can't stand to look at his daughter because she looks like his wife. Now the little girl has started showing up with bruises and I think he is taking out his anger at his wife's death on the child. I'm trying to get her to talk to me before I report him but, despite the fact that she was always so forth coming before, she has started clamming up every time I mention her father. Yes, I am a mandated r