Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Husband joining Air Force... Any advice?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 18 Replies
We are considering my husband joining the military, specifically the Air Force.
Before now, I have zero experience being a military spouse, and of course I have questions! We're leery of listening to everything a recruiter has to say; obviously they WANT you to join, and we don't want to be taken for a ride.
Here's our situation. We're married with a two-year-old boy, and we need a change. We live in an area that has been hit hard by the recession, and we want an opportunity to start over and get out of this area. Hubby doesn't have any college education (I do, but he is the primary bread winner at least until I go back for my masters when Little Man is school age), and he feels stuck at a job that he hates. He makes about 85k, but we're willing to take a pay cut as an investment in our future and in Little Man's education.
We've done a lot of research into the life we'd be starting, but I'm interested in getting advice and whatnot from women who have lived it!
Have you been in the Air Force, or been an Air Force wife? What has your experience been like? What have you loved? hated?

Thanks ladies!
Posted by Anonymous on Sep. 29, 2013 at 12:54 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous - Original Poster on Sep. 29, 2013 at 12:55 AM
Interested in views on on-base living, how often you/he have been deployed, etc.
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Sep. 29, 2013 at 12:55 AM
Bump for tomorrow!
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Sep. 29, 2013 at 12:56 AM
Good luck getting in.

The military isn't enlisting like they used to.

Anonymous
by Anonymous - Original Poster on Sep. 29, 2013 at 12:58 AM