Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

giving up career for a person?

Posted by on Sep. 30, 2013 at 11:13 AM
  • 30 Replies

I have been with my bf for 6 months and I am currently studying to become a Pastor it is my passion. He is now telling me I have to choose between him and my career. When I am done with school they can send me wherever they want and I cannot bring my bf and cohabitate without being married. It is part of the religion.

Now he is telling me I should get another career. He knew I was studying to be a pastor when we first got into a relationship its not like it was some surprise. I really don't know what I should do advice greatly appreciated!

by on Sep. 30, 2013 at 11:13 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
ZombieMeat
by on Sep. 30, 2013 at 11:15 AM

You have only been with him for 6 months, and you don't know whether or not you want to give up a carreer for him? I wouldn't give up a carreer for my husband, if it was that important to me.

sweetfox3
by Silver Member on Sep. 30, 2013 at 11:16 AM

Why should you have to give up your career, especially one you are passionate about?  If it was a meh-job-to-pay-the-bills, then fine.  So, you don't cohabitate with him.  If he wants to be with you wherever you are sent, he can follow and pay his own way andget his own place (and you get yours) or you two get married.  If there are impediments to marriage (such as one of you is still legally married to someone else) then get those resolved. 

i_am_no_1
by on Sep. 30, 2013 at 11:16 AM

You want to be a pastor, yet you want to "live in sin"?

fullxbusymom
by Ruby Member on Sep. 30, 2013 at 11:18 AM