Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Selfish Reasons You Gave Up Breastfeeding.

Posted by on Oct. 15, 2013 at 1:40 AM
  • 64 Replies
Go anon, if you need to. This is my first time exclusively breastfeeding, we're 4 weeks in and the part that blows the most is the fact I can't indulge in my dirty habit; wine. Yes, I know you can have a glass here and there and blah blah blah, safe to nurse, pump some bottles...but in the end, ultimately I feel guilty-I can't even enjoy it. I love the connection, the convenience but breastfeeding does have its selfish set backs...what is yours? Did you ultimately give in?

SHUT THE FUCK UP

by on Oct. 15, 2013 at 1:40 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
3JuJu3
by Platinum Member on Oct. 15, 2013 at 1:45 AM
1 mom liked this

I gave up because it took too long for my milk to come in fully.  It seemed like I was spending all day with either a baby attached to me or attempting to pump.  The most I could get is a couple of ounces a session.  I could handle the soreness, but it seemed like I couldn't do anything else.  I was even seeing a lactation consultant from the beginning since both of my kids had trouble latching on.  I wanted to have enough milk so that I could pump and go back to work, but after a couple of months I just gave in and did formula full time. 

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 on Oct. 15, 2013 at 1:45 AM

my oldest child had reflux, and it didn't seem to matter what I removed from my diet.  this was waaaaay before reflux was diagnosed in infants, and the only thing that worked was switching to soy formula.

the other two had reflux too, but I never even tried it with them.  I now take maintenance medication that does not mix with breastfeeding.

3MusketeerMama
by EmmaRye Pie on Oct. 15, 2013 at 1:49 AM