Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Self Removal of IUDs? *update*

Posted by on Oct. 26, 2013 at 3:46 PM
  • 101 Replies
1 mom liked this
Has anyone done it?

I've had the Paragard for a couple months now, and its been nothing but nonstop cramping and bleeding. I can't even stand up for a length of time because the backache is so bad. I'm a stylist, I have to be on my feet all day. I can't even do my job because of this demon T.

Anyway, I don't have health insurance right now, and when I called my doc to ask how much it would cost for removal, I'm looking at around $450. There's no planned parenthood in my area that deals with IUDs, just pills and depo, so they can't do it for me.

Is it possible to remove it myself? I mean, I know its possible, but is it dangerous to do?

*update*
I did it. Took a shower, tried to get a grab on the strings but it was way too slimy up there to get a good hold, so I shot some water up there to rinse it out a bit, and grabbed a rubber glove for more grip. Grabbed the string pretty easily after that and it slid right out totally painlessly.
by on Oct. 26, 2013 at 3:46 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
daisybaby91
by on Oct. 26, 2013 at 3:47 PM
I wouldnt :/
allsolittle
by Gold Member on Oct. 26, 2013 at 3:48 PM
I did it by accident.
katemckenzie
by Kate on Oct. 26, 2013 at 3:49 PM
How so?

Quoting allsolittle:

I did it by accident.
Bluescorpia
by on Oct. 26, 2013 at 3:49 PM
It is dangerous to try to remove it yourself. I had a hard time finding a Dr to remove my mirena. Good luck finding a Dr that will work with you on this.
bmw29
by spitfire_bobbie on Oct. 26, 2013 at 3:49 PM
I had the mirena and removed it myself. It took me a couple minutes and was completely painless.
katemckenzie
by Kate on Oct. 26, 2013 at 3:49 PM
1 mom liked this
What should I do? I don't have $450 lying around...

Quoting daisybaby91: