Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I can't decide if I should pull him out.

Posted by   + Show Post

I got my son into cubscouts.  He's six so he's a Tiger Cub.  He doesn't seem too interested in baseball, basketball, football etc. but I know it's important that he be in some kind of extra curricular activity.  I figured Cubscouts because it would help socialize him and build his self confidence.  Well, he hates it.  He doesn't like the meetings, complains and whines when we have "homework" to do, and to be honest, I don't like it too much either.  I just don't want to pull him out too early and teach him that it's okay to just give up.  He's gone to about four or five meetings now, all of which he says are boring.  I try to stay positive about it and explain how you have to do work before the fun things like field trips and stuff, but he's just not feeling it. 

I'm thinking about putting him into a mixed martial arts class.  He went to an open house thing with a friend of his one night and he loved it.  I think I'm going to call today and get some details and price it out.  Do you think I'm bailing too early on Cubscouts?

by on Oct. 28, 2013 at 1:39 PM
Replies (21-30):
melissanoel
by Bronze Member on Oct. 28, 2013 at 1:55 PM

If he doesn't like it I would take him out.

TatyBear
by on Oct. 28, 2013 at 1:56 PM
I always tell my kids to.let me know if they hate what they go into. I'm not paying for my kids to be bored.

We just move on and find.something else.

prdmama1154
by Silver Member on Oct. 28, 2013 at 1:57 PM

Thank you :)

I'm not talking bad about scouts.  I think it's great for those that like it.  I just don't think it's his thing.  He needs something the holds his attention a little more.  He told me it's just like school without anything fun.

Quoting ambrossious2000: