Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

I can't decide if I should pull him out.

Posted by   + Show Post

I got my son into cubscouts.  He's six so he's a Tiger Cub.  He doesn't seem too interested in baseball, basketball, football etc. but I know it's important that he be in some kind of extra curricular activity.  I figured Cubscouts because it would help socialize him and build his self confidence.  Well, he hates it.  He doesn't like the meetings, complains and whines when we have "homework" to do, and to be honest, I don't like it too much either.  I just don't want to pull him out too early and teach him that it's okay to just give up.  He's gone to about four or five meetings now, all of which he says are boring.  I try to stay positive about it and explain how you have to do work before the fun things like field trips and stuff, but he's just not feeling it. 

I'm thinking about putting him into a mixed martial arts class.  He went to an open house thing with a friend of his one night and he loved it.  I think I'm going to call today and get some details and price it out.  Do you think I'm bailing too early on Cubscouts?

by on Oct. 28, 2013 at 1:39 PM
Replies (211-213):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 32 on Oct. 30, 2013 at 5:22 PM

yawn

Quoting Anonymous:

My boys couldn't care less that I don't like scouts! My DH, my mom, their scout leaders etc. provide the support they need! My two oldest boys are both Eagle Scouts. Our next son is getting ready to do his Eagle project! My DH is the only Eagle Scout out of him and his 3 brothers! His parents were over-bearing when it came to being supportive of the scouting program! So just b/c I don't hover over them, and act like scouting is their 'whole life' like my in-laws did, has not hindered them from getting their Eagle Badge!!!