Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

I can't decide if I should pull him out.

Posted by   + Show Post

I got my son into cubscouts.  He's six so he's a Tiger Cub.  He doesn't seem too interested in baseball, basketball, football etc. but I know it's important that he be in some kind of extra curricular activity.  I figured Cubscouts because it would help socialize him and build his self confidence.  Well, he hates it.  He doesn't like the meetings, complains and whines when we have "homework" to do, and to be honest, I don't like it too much either.  I just don't want to pull him out too early and teach him that it's okay to just give up.  He's gone to about four or five meetings now, all of which he says are boring.  I try to stay positive about it and explain how you have to do work before the fun things like field trips and stuff, but he's just not feeling it. 

I'm thinking about putting him into a mixed martial arts class.  He went to an open house thing with a friend of his one night and he loved it.  I think I'm going to call today and get some details and price it out.  Do you think I'm bailing too early on Cubscouts?

by on Oct. 28, 2013 at 1:39 PM
Replies (31-40):
rhymia
by Member on Oct. 28, 2013 at 2:14 PM

I would pull. He didn't choose Scouts, you signed him up. Our family rule is that if the kids ask to join something they need to see it through, but if we sign them up for something and they honestly don't like it, then they can stop. At six, the idea of being a "quitter" is lost on him, especially since it wasn't something he asked to join or expressed interest in - all he will remember is the year mom made him go to cubs outs and he didn't like it. 

We did not sign our daughters up for girls scouts - all I remember is a lot of boredom with bouts of drama at meetings. No thanks. 

HaileysMom07180
by on Oct. 28, 2013 at 2:14 PM
2 moms liked this