Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

I am staying home to take care of my baby, not yours!

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 99 Replies
1 mom liked this

I am pregnant with mine and DH's first child. I am due March 20th. I am also a 1st grade teacher. DH and I decided that once the baby was born, I would be staying home with the baby. I told the school this at the beginning of the school year. To make things easier on the students, I will not come back after Christmas break so they will start the new semester with their new teacher (they all know about this and there is even a goodbye party planned). Besides, this gives me time to get ready for the baby and take it easy for the last third of my pregnancy.

Well my SIL (DH's sister) thinks that because I am staying home, I should watch her 2 year old for her for free. She actually said to me the other day "you know, we spend $180 a week on childcare and I have kind of been waiting for you to offer to watch DD to save us money". I  was stunned that she would be so rude as to not only ask me to watch her kid for free but to expect it. I told her that if I wanted to continue working, I would have taught until my delivery  (that's not entirely true, part of me leaving early is for the kids but the other part is that yeah, I do want to take some time off to get my home ready for the new baby and to take it easy).