Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

I can't do it. I just can't.

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 262 Replies
25 moms liked this
I can't do any type of retail.
I hate people way too much, lol.

I am in school to advance in my career of choice.
I've been in school for 2 years and have a year and a half left.
To help with bills, I wanted to get a part time job. Nothing too serious or time consuming, just something to help my husband out.

Fuck this.

I can't.

I applied for a job at a restaurant. It looked fun and exciting and fast paced.
I've never worked at a restaurant before. Only an insurance office.
So I got hired as a hostess. The hostesses also bus tables, which is something I don't like.
I don't really like bussing, I'm better at coordinating.
So anyways, I kept the job regardless and decided to give it a try since my friend works there too and loves it.

A family comes in the door. I greet them and ask either how many or if anyone else will be joining them.
I get a snarky response almost every time.
They'll say "Obviously just 4 of us."
Actually, you bumbling idiot, it's not "obvious". A lot of times somebody else joins or someone is parking the car or WHATEVER.
It's not as cut and dry as me just counting you all.

If I do say "The three of you for dinner?"
Some asshole will say "no, more will be coming."
Then there's a pause..... I'm like okay, care to elaborate?? Like maybe HOW FUCKING MANY.

Then there's the people that come in and before I can even say hello, they're yelling "2 for a booth".
First off, hi. How the fuck are you tonight?
Second, why are you not allowing me to utter a word before you're requesting a booth? Why are you so eager for a booth?
Weird. It's just a booth.

Then there are the people that say, "We would like a booth by the window."