Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

WHY DO YOU NEED FEMINISM? ETA

Posted by on Dec. 1, 2013 at 4:01 PM
  • 304 Replies
2 moms liked this

I'm new to the feminist movement, but I love it and I think it's so important. Misogyny and sexism are so ingrained in our society. I'm sure we all experience it in our everyday lives whether we realize it or not. And this is why we need feminism. 

WHY DO YOU NEED FEMINISM?

ETA: 

Wow. This thread did not go where I thought it would! I had really hoped people would come with reasons why they DO need feminism. Not why so many of you feel you DON'T. 

First, let me clarify. My list is small potatoes. Obviously there are bigger issues that I take much more seriously. I only meant to eximplify the everyday sexism that is mostly unoticed or even accepted in society, especially within the home. It's not a huge war. I don't throw a fit everytime someone imposes gender roles on me and my family. Or protest every statement that implies I am inferior to my husband. Or even rage against the unfair labels that are used to manipulate me into quiet submission. But I think it's important to be aware of these things too. Because this underlying sexism is not a mentality I want my children to grow up with.

I can't help but feel like a lot of you have a lot of misconceptions regarding the feminist movement. I think the most obvious being that we are sexist man haters with a vendetta against SAHMs. I mean, seriously, I'm a SAHM. LOL I love my husband. He loves me and my feminist ideas. I like girly things. I shave my armpits. These are all just stereotypes. You can be all these or none of these things and still be a feminist. They do not define the movement.