Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

S/O not a bashing post but a query ... working on the Sabbath.

Posted by on Dec. 24, 2013 at 5:52 AM
  • 32 Replies

Now I want to start by saying that I am not a Christian but the girl I work with regularly on Sunday's is ... I'm a student paramedic and she's the paramedic. We work together out of the same ambulance. Now I know that the Sabbath is a Sunday she works every Sunday (in the ambulance service here you don't pick your roster). Not working on the Sabbath is one of the 10 commandments, I know that according to Christians I'm going to Hell anyway but for arguments sake ...

Are we (and all the doctors, nurses, and paramedics) that work Sundays going to be thrown into eternal torture for it? Am I suppose to repent for saving the life of a 5 year girl last Sunday that had drowned in her grandparents pool? Or the 20 year old the Sunday before who had been hit by a car and was praying (loudly) to Jesus to not let him die?

by on Dec. 24, 2013 at 5:52 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mcginnisc
by *Claire-Bear* on Dec. 24, 2013 at 5:59 AM
1 mom liked this

Here's the thing though- nobody knows which day is truly the 7th day or the Sabbath as when God created the universe in 7 days, the timeline is debatable. There is no telling how long a day was, which day He started on, etc...

Christians are judged by The New Covenant and it actually means to " honor the Sabbath" as in recognize that God rested on the 7th day...it is a time for reflection..you also have to understand that the Sabbath is your rest day, so if your work week begins on Sunday, your Sabbath is on Saturday...if your work week begins on Wednesday, your Sabbath is Tuesday. You don't go to Hell for working on the Sabbath, it just means to recognize it. 

Claire