Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Punishment for mouthy 12 year old. My mom says it's cruel? UPDATE

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 763 Replies
143 moms liked this
So my oldest child is 12. I'm tired of him being mouthy with DH and I and having something to sass back every time I tell him to do anything. It's never okay or yes mom. It's always a whine or a protest.

I talked to DH and he's on board with this "punishment" I've come up with, but I actually think of it more as a lesson. He has ONE chore a day, yet always whines that he has to do too much and yesterday, had the nerve to say he does more than me. II've absolutely had it, so here's what I've decided to do.

I clean residential homes for a living and work for myself. I have decided to take my 12 year old with me to work tomorrow all day since there's no school still and have him work his butt off helping me clean for a full day with mopping, dusting, scrubbing bathrooms, cleaning windows, etc, and then I'm going to have him come home and cook dinner from scratch (with supervision), fold laundry and do all the stuff I do in.a daily basis before he gets to sit down and relax and then ask him if one chore a day is really so bad and if he really thinks he does as much as me.

My mom thinks this is cruel but DH is with me on it. Thoughts?

Update: The day was long and yes he did complain some, but it didn't go as bad as I thought! The first hour was not good. He was purposely slacking and pouting and not putting in hardly any effort but after he realized we WOULD be staying until the work was done, he got going because he wanted it to be over with. We showed up at 10 and didn't leave until 4:30. It's a home I only do biweekly so there's a lot to do when I go. I told him we would be done by 4 but when it took until 4:30, I explained that that's life and maybe if he hadn't slacked off in the morning, we would have got more done.