Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I'm a failure as a mother and I wish I was told about other options when pregnant.

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 13 Replies
First off, I'm a younger than average mom. I'm a full time college student and single. Ex gets DD every other weekend and I just texted him in the midst of breaking down.

My DD is 2 years old. She is TERRIBLE at listening to directions. When I tell her not to say/do something she either giggles and says "shut up" or screams "I WILL DO IT" and if I ask her to do something (pick up toys, eat, lay down, etc) I'm immediately told "I DON'T WANT TO". I've tried the corner. I've tried taking things away.. All while telling her that she doesn't say those things to mommy. I've even spanked her a few times. I asked EX if she is that way with him and he said she was ONE TIME and he spanked her and she doesn't act that way anymore. I don't understand why my spank would be any different. I'm just at wits end and have no clue what to do. She's a good kid around others and when she plays on her own, she has great manners and she is smart.. I just don't get why she doesn't want to listen to me. :( It breaks my heart so much I'm even crying while typing this, ugh.
Posted by Anonymous on Dec. 30, 2013 at 11:11 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
momma2mms
by Kristin on Dec. 30, 2013 at 11:14 PM
3 moms liked this

She's 2!! Little ones take it out on the ones they love most. It will get better. Stay consistent.

alexsmomma06
by Ruby Member on Dec. 30, 2013 at 11:14 PM
2 moms liked this
Because you are not making her listen. Kids learn very early what they can get away with. Be more firm with her, don't back down, set ground rules and follow them
lnrmom
by on Dec. 30, 2013 at 11:18 PM
1 mom liked this