Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

My Dragon Eggs Are Sweating!!! The Baby Has Arrived!!

Posted by on Jan. 6, 2014 at 1:50 PM
  • 459 Replies
54 moms liked this

I went to check on him. When he saw me, he hissed and popped the rest of the way out of the egg. 1 down, 14 to go :-D

Most of his body is out. He is a fast mover because it usually takes a few days. At this rate he'll be completely out in a few hours :-)

A Head Popped Through!!

This is the first guy to pop his head through and take a breath. It can be up to 3 days before he ventures all the way out. He's looking like he has daddy's coloring in the face though :-D

ETA #2

There have been quite a few questions so I'm going to try to quickly answer the most common ones. I am a reptile breeder by trade. It is how I'm able to be a SAHM. I've been breeding for 7 year. Other than beardies, I breed crested geckos, leopard geckos, gargoyle geckos, tibetan frog eyed geckos (the only person in a 200 miles radius. They are very difficult to breed), Jackson's Chameleon's (they give live birth), uromastyx, sandfish skinks, Argentine Tegu's, and ball pythons. My reptiles are intentionally bred off season when the demand for babies is at it's highest. These eggs will be my first hatchlings of all the species I bred this season.

This is my first clutch of the season and after exactly 60 days of incubation my bearded dragon eggs are showing their first signs of hatching...they're sweating! Well, 5 are anyway. My girl laid a clutch of 21 eggs. 5 of them were infertile and unfortunately one "miscarried" (I've got pics of that) so that left me 15 eggs for her first clutch...not too bad but we've seen better first clutches. Here are her 15 eggs!

And here is a look at some eggs sweating!